تخطي الملاحة
يغلق X

أسئلة مكررة

أين تقع جامعة بيت لحم؟

تقع جامعة بيت لحم في مدينة بيت لحم بفلسطين بالقرب من ساحة المهد وكنيسة المهد. وتقع بيت لحم في الضفة الغربية التي تحتلها إسرائيل، على بعد حوالي ستة أميال جنوب القدس. تخدم جامعة بيت لحم السكان الفلسطينيين ويأتي معظم الطلاب من بيت لحم والقدس الشرقية وبيت ساحور وبيت جالا والخليل والقرى المحيطة بها.

تنقسم الضفة الغربية إلى ثلاث مناطق مختلفة: المنطقة (أ) و(ب) و(ج). وتقع مدينة بيت لحم في المنطقة (أ) الخاضعة لسيطرة السلطة الفلسطينية. وتغطي المنطقة (أ) حوالي 18% من مساحة الضفة الغربية وهي الأكثر كثافة سكانية.

وتخضع المنطقة (ب) إداريًا للسلطة الفلسطينية وتتقاسم السيطرة الأمنية مع إسرائيل. تغطي المنطقة (ب) حوالي 22% من الضفة الغربية.

وتقع المنطقة (ج) تحت السيطرة الإدارية الإسرائيلية وتغطي 60% من الضفة الغربية. ويعيش حوالي 180,000-300,000 فلسطيني في المنطقة (ج) إلى جانب أكثر من 325,000 مستوطن إسرائيلي. يُحظر على الفلسطينيين بشكل أساسي التوسع أو البناء في المنطقة (ج) (حتى على أراضيهم) ويستخدمها الجيش الإسرائيلي للتدريبات وتوسيع المستوطنات.

المعلومات مصدرها تصور فلسطين 101

المنطقة أ، ب، ج، الخريطة مقدمة من SoWhAt249 [سي سي بي-سا 4.0], عبر ويكيميديا كومنز

من يدرس في جامعة بيت لحم؟

طلاب

  • 3,226 طالب مسجل
  • 77% للنساء، 23% للرجال
  • 81% مسلم، 19% مسيحي
  • 52% من الطلبة من محافظة بيت لحم، 37% من القدس، 10% من الخليل، 1% أخرى
  • نسبة المعلمين إلى الطلاب هي 1 إلى 16

 

الكلية والطاقم 

  • 50% للنساء، 50% للرجال
  • 68% من بيت لحم، 11% من القدس، 6% من الخليل، 5% من رام الله/البيرة، 3% دولي، 7% أخرى

 

الكليات 

  • كلية الآداب: 545 طالباً
  • كلية إدارة الأعمال: 646 طالباً
  • كلية التربية: 460 طالباً
  • كلية التمريض والعلوم الصحية: 956 طالباً
  • كلية العلوم التطبيقية والتكنولوجيا والهندسة: 445 طالباً
  • معهد إدارة الفنادق والسياحة: 174 طالباً

 

الجامعية للدراسات العليا

  • 188 طالب دراسات عليا
  • 3,038 طالب جامعي

 

الشب

  • 21,614 إجمالي الخريجين
  • 15,175 خريجة
  • 6,440 خريجًا

 

*اعتبارًا من أكتوبر 2023، فرت العديد من العائلات المسيحية من العنف المتزايد في الضفة الغربية. وعلى هذا النحو، فإن عدد السكان المسيحيين في الضفة الغربية وفي جامعة بيت لحم آخذ في التناقص.

كيف يؤثر الاحتلال على الطلاب؟

نقاط تفتيش

وفي مختلف أنحاء الضفة الغربية، تستخدم إسرائيل نقاط التفتيش كوسيلة لإرهاب الفلسطينيين، وقطع حريتهم في الحركة، وعزل القرى والمدن عن بعضها البعض. هناك أكثر من 700 نقطة تفتيش دائمة تقسم المشهد الفلسطيني. تؤثر هذه في المقام الأول على حركة مرور المركبات، ولكنها يمكن أن تحد أيضًا من حركة المشاة.

تأتي نقاط التفتيش بأشكال عديدة مثل بوابات الطرق، والسواتر الترابية، وحواجز الطرق، والجدران الترابية، والخنادق، ونقاط التفتيش الجزئية. في أي وقت، قد يواجه الفلسطيني "حاجزًا طيارًا"، حيث تتوقف القوات الإسرائيلية وتفحص حركة المرور. لا يوجد جدول زمني صارم بشأن موعد إقامة نقاط التفتيش. رحلة بسيطة مدتها نصف ساعة يمكن أن تتحول بسهولة إلى عدة ساعات. يمكن إغلاق مداخل المدن أو القرى في أي وقت.

ما يقرب من نصف عدد الطلاب يقيمون في القدس أو الخليل. يقضي الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس ساعات طويلة في السفر لمسافة قصيرة للوصول إلى الفصول الدراسية. إن المرور عبر نقاط التفتيش هو وضع مقلق ومرهق. وقد يتعرض الطلاب للاعتداء أو التهديد أو الضرب أو حتى القتل.

المعلومات مصدرها أوتشا (مكتب الأمم المتحدة للشؤون المنسقة)

 

جوازات السفر والهوية

يتم فصل الفلسطينيين إلى فئات مختلفة من حاملي بطاقات الهوية. أولئك الذين ولدوا في إسرائيل قادرون على السفر بحرية، لكنهم يواجهون تمييزًا آخر. يجب على الطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين الذين لديهم بطاقة هوية زرقاء أو هوية القدس تقديم دليل على العيش في القدس. من الصعب للغاية التقدم بطلب للحصول على بطاقات هوية القدس، ويجب على الأزواج الذين يحملون بطاقات هوية زرقاء وخضراء إما أن يعيشوا منفصلين أو يعيشون في مناطق مثل كفر عقب، وهو حي خارج رام الله يعد من الناحية الفنية جزءًا من القدس الشرقية، ولكن يفصله الجدار. ومع ذلك، فهي منطقة خطيرة ومزدحمة ولا يوجد بها أي خدمات حكومية مثل الصرف الصحي.

من المرجح أن يحمل الطلاب المولودون في الضفة الغربية بطاقة هوية خضراء، مما يعني أنه يتعين عليهم الحصول على تصريح خاص للسفر إلى إسرائيل. العديد من الطلاب الذين يعيشون في الضفة الغربية لم يسبق لهم زيارة القدس ولم يشاهدوا الأماكن المقدسة أو سافروا إلى البحر، على بعد 45 ميلاً فقط. إذا كان الطلاب بحاجة إلى السفر دوليًا، فيجب عليهم السفر عبر الأردن، وهي عملية طويلة ومكلفة، حيث لا يُسمح لحاملي الهوية الخضراء بالسفر عبر المطار الرئيسي في إسرائيل في تل أبيب.

كيف تؤثر المستوطنات على BU؟

وفي انتهاك للقانون الدولي، تواصل إسرائيل بناء المستوطنات داخل الضفة الغربية. وقد تزايد عنف المستوطنين بشكل مطرد خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية. في بداية عام 2023، تم الإبلاغ عن 3 هجمات يوميًا في الضفة الغربية، ومنذ أكتوبر 2023، تم الإبلاغ عن سبع هجمات يوميًا، وفقًا لمكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (OHCA). *لاحظ أن هذه الأرقام لا تعكس حالات التعدي على ممتلكات الغير أو المضايقة أو الترهيب. ويمنع المستوطنون بشكل روتيني الوصول إلى الطرق، ويتسببون في أضرار للمحاصيل والماشية وموارد المياه. ويستخدم المستوطنون أيضًا الأسلحة النارية لتخويف الفلسطينيين وحتى قتلهم، وغالبًا ما يكون ذلك مع الإفلات من العقاب وبمساعدة الجنود الإسرائيليين.

المعلومات مصدرها مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية (OHCA)

عشرة بالمائة من سكان جامعة بوسطن يأتون من الخليل. أنشأت إسرائيل عدة مستوطنات داخل وسط مدينة الخليل، ونتيجة لذلك، اضطر الفلسطينيون الذين يعيشون في المنطقة إلى التعامل مع القيود الشديدة التي فرضها الجيش. يُمنع السكان الفلسطينيون من السير في عدة شوارع رئيسية، بينما يحق للمستوطنين التجول أينما يريدون. هناك أيضًا 21 نقطة تفتيش مأهولة بشكل دائم. ويقوم المستوطنون بشكل روتيني بمضايقة السكان الفلسطينيين ومهاجمتهم.

المعلومات مصدرها بتسيلم، مركز المعلومات الإسرائيلي لحقوق الإنسان في الأراضي المحتلة.

*اعتبارًا من أكتوبر 2023، قامت جامعة بيت لحم بنقل الفصول الدراسية عبر الإنترنت للحفاظ على سلامة الطلاب والموظفين وأعضاء هيئة التدريس من عنف المستوطنين المتزايد.

ما هو الجدار العازل؟

بدأ بناء "الجدار العازل" عام 2002 كوسيلة للفصل بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين وتفكيك المشهد الفلسطيني. يقع 85% من الجدار داخل الضفة الغربية (وليس على الخط الأخضر أو في حدود إسرائيل) ويعزل المدن والقرى عن بعضها البعض. لقد سمح الجدار بتوسيع المستوطنات وعزل 150 مجتمعًا فلسطينيًا يعيشون في جيوب تقع بين إسرائيل والجدار عن أراضيهم الزراعية وبقية الضفة الغربية. وترفض إسرائيل منح التصاريح التي تمكن الفلسطينيين من زراعة أراضيهم وزراعتها.

الجدار عبارة عن مزيج من الجدران الخرسانية التي يبلغ ارتفاعها 8-9 أمتار بالقرب من التجمعات السكانية الأكبر في المناطق الحضرية وأسوار الأسلاك الشائكة والخنادق. والقدس الشرقية معزولة بالكامل عن الضفة الغربية بواسطة الجدار العازل.

إن الجدار ينتهك العديد من حقوق الإنسان. فهو يحد بشدة من حرية التنقل، "وبالتالي يؤثر على حقوقهم في العمل والتعليم والرعاية الطبية والحياة الأسرية وكسب العيش ومستوى معيشي لائق". وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، وجدت محكمة العدل الدولية أن الجدار ينتهك القانون الدولي.

المعلومات مصدرها بتسيلم، المعلومات الإسرائيلية لحقوق الإنسان في الأراضي المحتلة. الرسومات مصدرها الجزيرة.
أين هم BU الشب؟

خريجو جامعة بيت لحم منتشرون في كل أنحاء العالم. ويقيم العديد منهم في الضفة الغربية لبدء مشاريعهم الخاصة أو الدخول في مجال الرعاية الصحية. يدرس بعض الطلاب في الخارج ويواصلون دراستهم. هناك أكثر من 400 الشب يعيشون حاليا في غزة.

تخرجت BU alum Hanna مؤخرًا بدرجة علمية في الفيزياء ومعلومات الكمبيوتر. يقوم حنا حالياً بتدريس الفيزياء في المرحلة الثانوية في المدرسة الأمريكية في بيت ساحور. ويأمل حنا أن يواصل دراسته في الخارج حتى يتمكن من العودة إلى فلسطين ومواصلة التدريس. عدد قليل جدًا من المدارس الثانوية في الضفة الغربية تقدم دورات في الفيزياء، ويحلم حنا أن يقدم العلوم المفضلة لديه لجميع الطلاب.

بو الشب حنا '22

ماذا يمكنني أن أفعل؟
  • اشترك في نشرتنا الإخبارية وكن مطلعًا على أخبار الجامعة
  • تحقق من صفحة الحجاج
  • اتصل بمدير التطوير، كاثي كارفر، على [email protected].

Skip navigation
CLOSE X

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is Bethlehem University?

Bethlehem University is located in Bethlehem, Palestine, near Manger Square and the Church of the Nativity. Bethlehem is located in the Israeli-occupied West Bank, about six miles south of Jerusalem. Bethlehem University serves the Palestinian population and most students come from Bethlehem, East Jerusalem, Beit Sahour, Beit Jala, Hebron, and surrounding villages.

The West Bank is divided into three different areas: Area A, B, and C. Bethlehem is located in Area A, which is under control of the Palestinian Authority. Area A covers roughly 18 percent of the West Bank and is the most densely populated.

Area B is administratively controlled by the Palestinian Authority and shares security control with Israel. Area B covers around 22% of the West Bank.

Area C is under Israeli administrative control and covers 60% of the West Bank. Around 180,000-300,000 Palestinians live in Area C along with over 325,000 Israeli settlers. Palestinians are essentially prohibited from expanding or building in Area C (even on their own land) and is used by the Israeli military for training exercises and settlement expansion.

Information sourced Visualizing Palestine 101

Area A,B,C, map courtesy SoWhAt249 [CC BY-SA 4.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Who attends Bethlehem University?

Students

  • 3,226 enrolled students
  • 77% women, 23% men
  • 81% Muslim, 19% Christian
  • 52% of students are from the Bethlehem governance, 37% from Jerusalem, 10% from Hebron, 1% other
  • Teacher to student ratio is 1 to 16

 

Faculty and Staff 

  • 50% women, 50% men
  • 68% are from Bethlehem, 11% from Jerusalem, 6% from Hebron, 5% from Ramallah/Al Bireh, 3% international, 7% other

 

Colleges 

  • Faculty of Arts: 545 students
  • Faculty of Business Administration: 646 students
  • Faculty of Education: 460 students
  • Faculty of Nursing and Health Sciences: 956 students
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences Technology, and Engineering: 445 students
  • Institute of Hotel Management and Tourism: 174 students

 

Postgraduate/Undergraduate

  • 188 postgraduate students
  • 3,038 undergraduate students

 

Alum

  • 21,614 total graduates
  • 15,175 women graduates
  • 6,440 male graduates

 

*As of October 2023, many Christian families have fled the increasing violence in the West Bank. As such, the Christian population in the West Bank and at Bethlehem University is decreasing.

How does the occupation affect students?

Checkpoints

Throughout the West Bank, Israel uses checkpoints as a means to terrorize Palestinians, cut off their freedom of movement, and isolate villages and cities from one another. There are over 700 permanent checkpoints that breakup the Palestinian landscape. These primarily affect vehicular traffic, but can also limit pedestrian movement.

Checkpoints come in many forms such as road gates, earth mounds, roadblocks, earth walls, trenches, and partial checkpoints. At any given time, a Palestinian may encounter a “flying checkpoint,” where Israeli Offensive Forces (IOF), will stop and check traffic. There is no strict schedule of when checkpoints will be manned. A simple half hour trip could easily turn into several hours. Entrances to cities or villages could be closed at any time.

Almost half of the student population resides in Jerusalem or Hebron. Students and faculty spend long hours traveling a short distance in order to get to classes. Going through checkpoints is an unsettling and stressful situation. Students may be accosted, threatened, beaten, or even killed.

Information sourced from OCHA (United Nations Office for Coordinated Affairs)

 

Passports and Identification

Palestinians are segregated into different categories of ID holders. Those who are born in Israel are able to freely travel, however face other discriminations. Students, faculty, and staff who have a blue ID, or Jerusalem ID, must show proof of living in Jerusalem. Jerusalem IDs are extremely difficult to apply for and married couples who have blue and green IDs must either live apart or live in areas like Kufr Aqab, a neighborhood outside of Ramallah that is technically a part of East Jerusalem, but is separated by the Wall. However, it is a dangerous and crowded area with no government services like sanitation.

Students born in the West Bank most likely carry a green ID, meaning they have to get special permission to travel to Israel. Many students living in the West Bank have never been to Jerusalem and seen the holy sites or traveled to the sea, just 45 miles away. If students need to fly internationally, they must travel through Jordan, a long and expensive process, as green ID holders are not permitted to fly through Israel’s major airport in Tel Aviv.

How do settlements affect BU?

In violation of international law, Israel continues to build settlements within the West Bank. Settler violence has steadily increased over the past few years. At the beginning of 2023, there were reported 3 attacks a day in the West Bank, since October of 2023 there are now reported seven, according to to the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OHCA). *Note these numbers do not reflect instances of trespassing, harassment, or intimidation. Settlers routinely block access to roads, cause damage to crops, livestock, and water resources. Settlers also use firearms to intimidate and even kill Palestinians, often with impunity and aid from Israeli soldiers.

Information sourced from UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OHCA)

Ten percent of the BU population comes from Hebron. Israel established several settlements within the Hebron city center, and as a result, Palestinians living in the area have had to deal with extreme restrictions imposed by the military. Palestinians residents are restricted from walking on several main streets, while settlers may roam wherever they wish. There are also 21 permanently staffed checkpoints. Settlers routinely harass and attack Palestinians residents.

Information sourced from B’tselem, the Israeli Information Center for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories.

*As of October 2023, Bethlehem University moved classes online to keep students, staff, and faculty safe from rising settler violence.

What is the Separation Wall?

The “separation wall” began construction in 2002 as a means to separate Palestinians and Israelis and break up the Palestinian landscape. 85% of the wall lies within the West Bank (not on the Green Line or in Israel-proper) and cuts off cities and villages from one another. The wall has allowed for settlement expansion and cuts off 150 Palestinian communities living in enclaves between Israel proper and the wall from their farming lands and the rest of the West Bank. Israel refuses to grant permits so that Palestinians may cultivate and farm their land.

The wall is a mix of 8-9 meter high concrete walls near larger urban populations and barbed wire fences and ditches. East Jerusalem is entirely cut off from the West Bank by the separation wall.

The wall is in violation of multiple human rights. It severely limits freedom of movement, “consequently impinging upon their rights to work, education, medical care, family life, earning a living and an adequate standard of living.” Additionally, the International Court of Justice found the wall to be in violation of international law.

Information sourced from B’tselem, the Israeli Information for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories. Graphics sourced from Al Jazeera.
Where are BU alum?

Bethlehem University alum are all over the world. Many stay in the West Bank to start their own businesses or enter the healthcare field. Some students study abroad and continue their studies. There are over 400 alum currently living in Gaza.

BU alum Hanna recently graduated with a degree in physics and computer information. Hanna currently teaches high school physics at the American School in Beit Sahour. Hanna hopes to continue his studies abroad so that he may return to Palestine and continue teaching. Very few high schools in the West Bank offer physics courses, and it is Hanna’s dream to bring his favorite sciences to all students.

BU alum Hanna ’22

What can I do?
  • Sign up for our newsletter and stay up to date with the university
  • Check out our Pilgrim page
  • Contact Director of Development, Kathy Carver, at [email protected].